Position:Home > Practice Areas > Overseas Investment

Practice Areas

Century-Link Law Office is one of the pioneers in China to provide specialized legal services to Chinese enterprises investing worldwide. As early as in the mid-1990s, the firm provided Chinese enterprises with all-round legal services in overseas investments, large-scale project contracts and exporting equipment. In recent years, the firm has increasingly expanded its service offerings to Chinese enterprises as they keep extending their reach to the outside world. We currently serve overseas investment projects in Africa, Southeast Asia, the Middle East, South America, Australia and Europe. These projects include investment in national strategic resources, Greenfield Investment, cross-border M&As, project financing, project contracting and technical cooperation.

 

Investment Adviser

The legal services in overseas investment Century-Link is to offer include serving as an overseas investment adviser to assist investors study the general legal environment and local rule of law, assess legal risks and offer risk control plans in host countries in the early stages of an investment project; to draft various legal documents, engage in negotiations and work with lawyers of the host countries to provide legal opinions for various investments so as to effectively minimize legal risks in overseas investment at the negotiation stages of an investment project. We also coordinate with lawyers of the host countries to provide diverse legal assistance in government examination and approval, business registration, environmental protection, labor relations, contract and taxation-related affairs on the one hand and offer solutions for disputes occurred during the implementation process of the project on the other after the signing of an investment project.

 

Legal Management

Apart from Chinese laws and those of the host country, an overseas investment project, more often than not, involves laws of a number of other countries, such as the country where the project company is located, the country where the financer is situated and the locality for disputes resolution. In recent years, Century-Link has developed a one-stop legal service platform for Chinese enterprises investing overseas based on the demand for legal services in Chinese overseas investment. Our clients entrust our firm to serve as their project legal advisor, then we will work together to study the demand for legal services in overseas projects and represent them to employ foreign lawyers to provide legal services necessary for their projects. For our clients, we act as their internal legal management department. Our services cover legal consulting and document preparation for overseas investment for one thing and foreign lawyers’ employment and administration for another. This platform leverages on our professional advantages to supplement the shortage of China’s investment abroad and enhance the capacity of Chinese organizations to control legal risks and improve their work efficiency in overseas investment.

 

Commercial debt collection

Century-Link represented many Chinese enterprises to lodge damage claims to the United Nations Compensation Commission after the first Gulf War and won the cases. We consult with our clients to identify the appropriate legal solutions for international debt collection in line with different business debt cases during the collecting process. As debt collection involves legal requirements of different countries and different methods to calculate losses as well as different legal procedures, we assist Chinese creditors to recruit lawyers of the country of the debtor to collect debts if necessary and coordinate with local lawyers to timely and effectively collect debts for our Chinese customers so as to minimize economic losses.

 

Representative Cases

  • Served as the legal advisor to the China Development Bank in its project financing of the Thermal Power Plant in Mariveles, the Philippines. This project was singled out as the “Best Deal of the Year for Project Finance” by an internationally influential legal magazine “Asia Law and Practice” in 2009 based on its financing amount, the number of financial institutions involved in the project financing and the complexity of the financing structure;
  • Served as the legal advisor for the forestry cooperation project between the Chinese and Malaysian governments in their participation in the negotiations and drafting of the MOU;
  • Served as the legal advisor for the state-invested large-scale pulp & paper limited company, to provide Chinese enterprises with a wide array of legal services in establishing an integrated production base for forestry, pulp and paper. These services include studying laws on forestry franchise rights, environmental stewardship, placement of affected farmers and resources protection, engaging in feasibility studies on relevant project operations, preparing land lease contracts and participating in negotiations regarding government franchise rights;
  • Served as the legal advisor to the China-Africa Development Fund in its relevant projects in Africa, including the glasswork, leather and cement projects in Ethiopia, and the trade zone project in Mauritius;
  • Served as the legal advisor to Yankuang Group in its project to construct the main East-West railway lines in Venezuela, providing related project contracting, financing agreements, equipment purchases, technology transfer and maintenance at a later stage;
  • Provided legal services on many cases to domestic financial institutions in offering consortium loans or project finance for overseas investment projects. We participated in this kind of project financing in Southeast Asia, the Middle East, Africa, Australia and South America, including the gold, copper and cobalt project in Congo, CDB’s credit loan project in East Africa, providing loans to the government of Kenya and the construction loan project in Libya;
  • Served as the special legal advisor for CDB in foreign-related projects and provided legal services in several of its “go global” financing projects. This also included a project to finance an airline company to purchase aircrafts, another project to finance a large state-owned company to acquire overseas minerals, as well as a project to finance overseas high-speed railway construction and an overseas bank’s credit loan project;
  • Served as the legal advisor for a large-scale textile enterprise in Shandong Province, providing full legal support in acquiring a textile mill in Guinea;
  • Served as the legal advisor to the Export Credit Department of People’s Insurance Company of China in underwriting a Chinese company's project to build ships in Iran, the Chinese project to build a shipyard for the United States Navy, a Chinese company to construct the Macedonian Kozjak Hydropower, a Chinese enterprise to construct the KANCHANA12MW power plant in Thailand and a hydropower plant project in Albania. Legal services provided by the firm include project legal structural design, commerce, insurance contract examination, financing, insurance contract negotiation and modification; and
  • Provided full legal services for China National Aero Technology Import And Export Corporation to capitalize on national export credit financing to build the multipurpose cargo ship valued at more than USD200 million for Islamic Republic of Iran Shipping Lines. Our services in this project included engaging in project planning, drafting documents, negotiating, developing and delivering the financing structure. After that, Century-Link once again provided legal services to CATIC and Guangzhou Shipyard in jointly building ship equipment by exporting technologies for Iran.  

Contact Attorney

Muxin Han 

Email:Muxinh@c-linklaw.com

Tel: 65150284

 

Min Gao

Email:Ming@c-linklaw.com

Tel: 65150284

当前位置:首页 > 业务领域 > 海外投资

 

世联律师事务所是国内最早为中国企业海外投资事务提供专业律师服务的律师事务所之一。早在上世纪九十年代中期,事务所律师就为中国企业海外投资、大型工程承包和成套设备出口项目提供了全面的律师服务。近年来,随着中国企业海外投资规模不断扩大,世联律师事务所在中国企业海外投资领域的法律服务范围日益扩大,服务类型日益全面。我们提供法律服务的海外投资项目所在国已经包括东南亚、中东、非洲、南美、澳大利亚和欧洲的不同国家。这些项目中既有国家战略资源投资项目、绿地投资项目,也有跨国企业并购、项目融资、工程承包和技术合作项目。

 

投资顾问

世联在海外投资方面能够提供全面的法律服务,包括作为海外投资顾问,在投资项目前期,帮助投资方研究投资目标国的总体法制环境以及与投资有关的当地法律规范、评估法律风险、提供风险控制方案;在投资项目谈判阶段,起草各项法律文件、参与谈判,并且与投资目标国律师合作,提供各类投资咨询意见,有效地防范海外投资的法律风险;在投资项目签约后,与当地律师配合,对项目合同执行过程中的各种法律事务提供帮助,包括政府审批和企业注册成立、环境保护事项、劳工关系、承包合同和税收事项,并为投资项目实施过程中各类纠纷提供解决方案等。

 

法务管理

海外投资项目往往涉及多国法律,除了中国和投资目标国的法律以外,项目往往会涉及项目公司所在地、融资方所在地和纠纷仲裁地等不同国家的法律。根据中国海外投资法律服务需求,世联律师事务所近年来开发了针对中国企业的一站式海外投资法律服务平台。客户只需要委托本所担任项目法律顾问,本所将与客户研究海外投资项目的法律服务需求并代表客户聘请外国律师为客户的项目提供所需法律服务。本所的作用相当于客户的内部法务管理部门,一方面承担海外投资项目的法律咨询、文件准备工作,另一方面承担对于外国律师的聘用和管理工作。这一平台的目的在于利用本所的专业优势,弥补中国企业海外投资中的不足,提高中国企业在海外投资项目中的法律风险控制能力和工作效率。

 

商账追收

早在第一次海湾战争后联合国主导的对伊拉克的战争索赔中,世联律师就先后代理了多家中国公司向联合国战争赔偿委员会提起的战争索赔,成功的为中国公司赢得了联合国海湾战争赔偿。我们在国际商帐追收过程中,将根据商业债务的不同情况,与客户协商确定适当的法律解决方案。由于国际商帐涉及到不同国家的法律标准和计算损失的方法,并涉及不同的法律追索程序,在需要债务人所在国律师参与的情况下,本所也帮助中国债权人聘请当地律师参与商帐追收,并配合当地律师工作,及时有效的为中国客户成功追回商帐,最大限度地避免经济损失。

 

代表性交易

作为国家开发银行的法律顾问,为菲律宾马里万斯(Mariveles)火电站项目融资(Project Finance)项目提供全程法律服务,该项目以其融资金额的规模、参加项目融资的金融机构的数量、融资结构的复杂程度,被具有国际影响力的法律专业杂志“Asia Law and Practice”,评选为2009年度 “年度最佳项目融资项目(Best Deal of the Year for Project Finance)”。

 

担任中国政府与马来西亚政府林业合作项目法律顾问,参与政府合作备忘录谈判和起草工作。

 

作为国家直接投资的大型浆纸有限公司法律顾问,为中国企业在海外投资建设林浆纸一体化生产基地项目提供全程律师服务,包括进行林地特许经营权、环保、农民安置、资源保护等法律的研究,参与有关项目经营可行性研究、起草土地租赁合同、参与政府特许经营谈判等。

 

担任中非基金法律顾问,为该基金投资有关非洲项目提供法律服务,包括埃塞玻璃厂项目、埃塞水泥项目、埃塞皮革项目和毛里求斯贸易区项目等。

 

在中国兖矿集团承建委内瑞拉国内东西铁路主干线项目中担任兖矿集团法律顾问,对项目涉及的工程承包、融资安排、设备购买、技术转让和后期维修担保等事项提供法律服务。

 

多次为国内金融机构向境外投资项目发放银团贷款或项目融资提供律师服务,该等融资项目的地区涉及东南亚、中东、非洲、澳洲和南美洲等,其中包括刚果金铜钴矿项目、东非开发银行授信贷款项目、肯尼亚政府贷款项目和利比亚住房建设贷款项目等。

 

担任国家开发银行涉外项目的专项法律顾问,为国开行多项“走出去”融资项目提供法律服务,包括某航空公司境外购买飞机融资项目、某大型国企境外并购矿产项目、境外高速公路建设融资项目、境外银行授信项目等。

 

担任山东一家大型纺织企业法律顾问为该公司收购几内亚纺织厂提供全面法律支持。

 

担任中国人民保险公司出口信用部法律顾问,为该公司承保的中国公司承建伊朗船舶项目、中国造船厂为美国海军承建船坞项目、中国公司承建马其顿科佳水电站建设项目、中国公司承建泰国KANCHANA12MW发电站项目和阿尔巴尼亚布显特水电站项目的提供法律服务。本所律师提供的法律服务包括:项目法律结构设计,商务、保险合同审查,融资、保险合同谈判和修改。

 

为中国航空技术进出口公司利用国家出口信贷融资为伊朗国家船运公司建造价值两亿多美元的多用途货船项目提供了全面法律服务。事务所律师在该项目中的工作包括参与项目策划、文件起草、对外谈判及融资方案的制定及实施等法律工作。此后本所律师再次为中航技和广州造船厂合作采用技术输出方式为伊朗承建大型造船设备提供了法律服务。

 

联系律师

 

韩沐新 律师

邮箱:muxinh@c-linklaw.com

电话:65150284

 

高敏 律师

邮箱:ming@c-linklaw.com

电话:65150284